The Aubrey-Maturin Series of Novels by Patrick O'Brian - Article Example

Only on StudentShare

Extract of sample
The Aubrey-Maturin Series of Novels by Patrick O'Brian

The Aubrey-Maturin novels depict historical events took place during Napoleonic wars at the beginning of the 19th century. O'Brian does not follow a strict chronological order depicting events from 1801-1813, and 1813-1814. The uniqueness is that O'Brian vividly portrays cultural and religious settings and values of the epoch, its historical significance and social traditions. Two main characters, Jack Aubrey and Stephen Maturin may be compared in matters of general cultural background, including politics and religion, as well as in three key elements of natural philosophy: the anatomical emphasis on pre-adapted functional design, the treatment of extinction, and the belief in fixity rather than transformation. All of these topics help define Maturin's patterns of thinking as a naturalist and shed light on subtly significant moments within the novels. Maturin was educated among the philosophes of the French Enlightenment, but both men, Aubrey and Maturin, also maintained a political and religious conservatism that some people found incongruous (King, 2001).
The Aubrey-Maturin novels carry out the paradoxical process of instruction found in the most interesting historical fiction: at the same time they make readers conversant with ideas, tropes, and habits of an earlier world, they also perform the noble literary work of defamiliarization. ...Show more


The Aubrey-Maturin novels is a series of novels written from 1970-1999. The series consists of 21 novels devoted to the life and journeys of two friends: captain, Jack Aubrey and ship's surgeon Stephen Maturin. Patrick O'Brian was a well-known English translator and novelist…
Author : dayton25
Save Your Time for More Important Things
Let us write or edit the article on your topic
"The Aubrey-Maturin Series of Novels by Patrick O'Brian"
with a personal 20% discount.
Grab the best paper

Related Essays

Family Relationship in Novels
Both novels deal with the lives of girls and follow their personal journey from immaturity toward adulthood through the complex overlapping of young adults, little women and grown up women (Elbert, 1), each fighting her own battles, and striving to change her destiny to live a better life than what the society might offer her, grasping the knowledge from her mentor, the mother, and making it her own.
2 pages (500 words) Book Report/Review
Coming of Age Novels
The essay will be focusing on whether the novels have the same patterns when the protagonists are men or women or whether they tend to have different patterns for each gender. It will also look on whether the authors have followed the styles of Bildungsroman or Kunstlerroman.
5 pages (1250 words) Book Report/Review
Fantasy Novels
Fantasy novels are of great importance in literature. People presume that fantasy novels are always meant for children as they consist of many unrealistic and immature thoughts and views. However, many adults still read fantasy novels and watch fantasy movies.
6 pages (1500 words) Book Report/Review
Thesis Rebellion and conformity are the integral part of the personal identity of the characters which help them to survive and resist violence, oppression, discrimination and false social moors. Woolf and Walker create an image of similar women characters faced with hardship and social conflict.
5 pages (1250 words) Book Report/Review
Barry Humphries and Patrick White
Two notable individuals who contributed to Australian theatre are Patrick Victor Martindale White and Barry Humphries. John Barry Humphries is a satirist, a character actor and a comedian. His best known roles are Dame Edna Everage, a Melbourne housewife, and Sir Les Patterson, a foul-mouthed Australian cultural representative to Britain.
10 pages (2500 words) Essay
Find out how much would it cost
to get a custom paper written by a pro under your requirements!
Win a special DISCOUNT!
Put in your e-mail and click the button with your lucky finger
Your email