United Nations, focused on international law

Pages 4 (1004 words)
Download 0
At the end of World War II, fifty-one countries committed to preserving peace through international cooperation and collective security established the UN on 24th October 1945. Today, nearly every nation in the world belongs to the UN and its membership totals 191 countries.


The purposes of the United Nations, as set forth in the Charter, are to maintain international peace and security; to develop friendly relations among nations; to cooperate in solving international economic, social, cultural and humanitarian problems and in promoting respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms; and to be a center for harmonizing the actions of nations in attaining these ends.

The United Nations comprises of six main bodies. Five of them - the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council and the Secretariat - are based at UN Headquarters in New York. The sixth, the International Court of Justice, is located at The Hague in the Netherlands.

The General Assembly makes decisions on the key issues and world's most pressing problems, and is represented by each member nation with the account of one vote each. The Security Council carries out decisions pertaining to international peace and security. Out of the fifteen members in the Security Council, five members are permanent while the remaining ten are rotating members. This council can call together any and every time when the world peace is terrorized, and its decision is binding on all the member nations. The Economic and Social Council is responsible for coordinating economic and social work of the UN and for fostering international cooperation for development. ...
Download paper
Not exactly what you need?