Symphony No,1 Brahms Analysis

Symphony No,1 Brahms Analysis Essay example
Pages 10 (2510 words)
Download 0
Name Course Instructor Submission Date The Symphony No. 1 in C minor The Symphony No. 1 in C minor refers to a symphony that was composed by Johannes Brahms. The composition of this symphony took him about 14 years. The premier of this symphony took place on the 4th of November 1876 and was conducted by a friend of the composer by the name Felix Otto Dessoff.


The most important structural feature, and that is undoubtedly original with Brahms, is the acquisition of a short but striking phrase which introduces the exposition, and for which the phrase basic motive seems most appropriate, since it principals the entire movement, either as a component or as a generating factor. The themes are all based on it, or obtained from it. The subordinate Theme is, for scant measures, similar to the principal one: such a likeness between the chief themes has been frequently done before and is identified as one of the conditions of the early symphonic movement (Frisch and Kevin 219). The first codetta also shows remarkable likeness to the principal theme; the basic motive is set forth in the upper most tones, but the principal theme is given to the basses. This symphony has four main movements marked as; Andante sostenuto (E major), Adagio – Piu andante – Allegro non troppo, ma con brio – Piu allegro (C minor/C major), Un poco allegretto e grazioso (A-flat major), and Un poco sostenuto – Allegro – Meno allegro (C minor). Un poco allegretto e grazioso is in the form of traditional ternary (Brahms 232). It has the contrasting trio section and allegretto, that is succeeded by a reprise of coda and Agleretto material. ...
Download paper
Not exactly what you need?