Religion and Theology
Pages 2 (502 words)
Download 0
Brahmanism, which is also known as "Vedic Hinduism" dates back 4000 years and developed many of the beliefs and foundations for Hinduism. Although Hinduism did is clearly an extension of Brahmanism, many of the Hindu beliefs and practices were not established in Brahmanism tradition.


Brahmanism is responsible for developing the stable and enduring foundation for the Hindu religion. One system deeply rooted Brahmanism that has been carried over into Hinduism is the existence of a caste system. There were four different casts in this system including Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaisyas and Sudras. Of these castes, the Brahmins were the highest as priests and scholars (Brahmanism, 1). Hinduism recognizes and maintains these four hereditary caste systems but over the millenniums, has added many additional castes (Hinduism-Brahmanism, 1).

Both Brahmanism and Hinduism also have established a belief in four stages of life. The four stages of life are Brahmacharya, Grihasthya, Vanaprastha and Sanyasa. The functions and objectives of these four stages of life have remained virtually identical in present-day Hinduism (Hinduism, 1). In Hinduism, within these four stages in life are four objectives of live (Kama, Artha, Dharma and Moksha) (Hinduism, 1). In Brahmin tradition, only Kama, Artha and Moksha are existent. Dharma was developed later as "a way to higher truths" (Hinduism, 1).

Brahmanism obtains a strong respect and worship for nature. Initially founded by the residents of the Indus River, a worship of nature became integral part of their religion as a result for their dependence on the land and the crops of their land. ...
Download paper
Not exactly what you need?