StudentShare solutions
Triangle menu

Healthy Grief - Essay Example

Not dowloaded yet

Extract of sample
Healthy Grief

“Grief is an emotional process” as what Hood, Hill & Spilka (2009, p. 198) quoted. In literature, the discussions that are common are about stages of grief, models of grief and ritual grief (Hood, Hill & Spilka, 2009, p. 198). Kubler-Ross & Kessler (2005, p. 7) stated that there are five stages of grief. These “five stages are denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance” (Kubler-Ross & Kessler, 2005, p. 7). These are the process in which each person should undergo once they experience the loss of someone. According to them, these are only identifiers for which a person feels when in time of grief, but it does not conclude that a person will experience all of these stages (Kubler-Ross & Kessler, 2005, p. 7). Also, Kubler-Ross & Kessler (2005, p. 7) state that it does not need to be exactly the same order as how they presented the stages of grief. These are only tools for people to identify easily what they are going through in times of grief. The first stage, which is denial, does not literally mean that the people who lost their loved ones do not know it. This denial is “more symbolic than literal” as noted by Kubler-Ross & Kessler (2005, p. 8). The second and third stages are anger and bargaining. Anger, according to Kubler-Ross & Kessler (2005, p. ...
After that, depression is the next stage. A person who lost someone feels empty and alone during this stage. Hence, it does not mean that when a person feels this way, it is a sign of mental illness (Kubler-Ross & Kessler, 2005, p. 20). Depression is normal to a person who just lost someone. Further, the last stage is acceptance. This is the point where the person accepts the reality that someone is dead. On this stage, the person will learn to live with it. On the other hand, the five stages of grief have many critics. There are some psychologists who also proposed other multi-stage models of grieving. Musgrave and Bickle (2003, p. 46) have drawn one of the popular stories of the Bible which is the story of Job. They stated that the story focuses on how someone heals through grieving. In the story of Job, Job deals not only a human grieving, but it also included God (“The Book of Job,” 2011). Though Job experienced the worst way of human grieving, it shows some of the stages of grief. In the story of Job, it only shows three stages among the five stages of grief from Kubler-Ross and Kessler (2005). These would be bargaining, depression and acceptance. It may sound unusual, but it seemed that acceptance comes first in the story of Job. It came first because Job is a believer of God. Thus, Job knew that his trials are part of God’s plan (“The Book of Job,” 2011). Since Job’s love for God is strong, he did not feel any anger and denial. Moreover, there’s one thing that Job showed - joy (“The Book of Job,” 2011). Though Job is suffering, he still shows hope that one day he will meet God face to face. Hence, it somehow gave him joy. In comparison between joy and the grieving process, a person can obtain joy once he/she free himself/herself from any ...Show more


Healthy Grief Your Name School People suffer grief once they suffer from a loss of someone they cherish and loved. Grief may be as complex as the human minds, but it can never be avoided. There will come a time that a person needs to experience how it feels to grieve…
Author : pheller
Healthy Grief essay example
Read Text Preview
Save Your Time for More Important Things
Let us write or edit the essay on your topic
"Healthy Grief"
with a personal 20% discount.
Grab the best paper

Related Essays

Healthy Grief Essay
This paper illustrates the concepts, comparing Kubler-Ross’ Stages of Grief to the Story of Job, as well as explaining how nurses can use Kubler-Ross’ concepts to help themselves. Introduction In Kubler-Ross’ estimation, grieving individuals go through five different stages.
5 pages (1250 words) Essay
Healthy grief
Healthy grief Name Instructor Class 10 June 2012 When a loved one dies, feeling grief is a natural response. Grief can be considered as a coping mechanism and a process that people usually go through during the bereavement cycle. Different religions and scholars present diverse ways of coping with grief.
4 pages (1000 words) Essay
Elisabeth Kübler-Ross produced a model based on coping with the grief associated often with the dying and loss of life. Her model or framework is based
4 pages (1000 words) Essay
Healthy Grief
It is a grieving process theory presented by “Elizabeth Kubler Ross” in her book “On Death and Dying” in 1969 (Kubler-Ross, 1969). She presented this theory as a model for coping with one own probable death due
2 pages (500 words) Essay
Healthy Grief
In numerous literatures on grief it has been believed that a systematic sequence takes place through separate stages which can be characterized by specific
2 pages (500 words) Essay
Healthy Grief
This painful response on emotion is referred to as grief. Most of the people are so much affected by grief. They become unconscious due to the deep bond that they were connected with the departed person. In this regard, must such persons to develop a positive attitude
4 pages (1000 words) Essay
Healthy Grief
This painful response on emotion is referred to as grief. Most of the people are so much affected by grief. They become unconscious due to the deep bond that they were connected with the departed person. In this regard, must such persons to develop a positive attitude
4 pages (1000 words) Essay
Healthy Grief
However the most common responses of a person to grief are anger, shock, numbness, fatigue, shock and yearning. Though grief is considered to be normal and the expected reaction of a
4 pages (1000 words) Essay
Healthy Grief
The stages of Kubler-Ross are used medically in grieving (Kübler-Ross, 1997). Different religions however use different models as a reference point for the steps that constitute normal grief. This paper will compare the
3 pages (750 words) Essay
Journal-grief and loss
Should they grieve less because their relationship is not sanctioned in the way that normal couples are? Should their relationship be considered irrelevant just because they do not have the benefit of a marriage contract? What makes them
1 pages (250 words) Essay
Get a custom paper written
by a pro under your requirements!
Win a special DISCOUNT!
Put in your e-mail and click the button with your lucky finger
Your email
Comments (0)
Rate this paper:
Thank you! Your comment has been sent and will be posted after moderation