StudentShare solutions
Got a tricky question? Receive an answer from students like you! Try us!

Essay example - Buddha teachings..... anything you want that is relavent

High school
Pages 4 (1004 words)
Download 0
Existence is unease In Buddhism, there are three marks of existence or characteristics that govern the entire existence-Anica or impermanence, Duhkha or suffering, and annata or not-self. These concepts are intertwined in one way or another. This is because everything arises as result of causes and conditions that are constantly in flux…

Extract of sample

These are ‘suffering of suffering’, suffering of change and persuasive. Firstly, ‘suffering of suffering’ is ordinary suffering that result from pain and associated by lower realms of existence such as in the human world. Secondly, suffering of change on the other hand encompasses sadness that results from loss of a happy condition, or that that arises when unhappy condition develops. Lastly, persuasive suffering refers to the internal frustrations. This suffering causes unrest and therefore an individual cannot enjoy any pleasant situations. Every living thing in the universe has desires that it would wish to be quenched. These desires for and attachments to worldly things if not accomplished lead to suffering. Therefore, the entire existence is surrounded by suffering that leads to pain. This is not just the pain of life but rather the uncertainty that exists at the center of the common universe, which arises from a person's intention to keep his life and achieving the true enlightenment. Gods are inclined to be proud and are considered to have a higher status in existence because they have very long life times which seem eternal i.e. they generally occupy the highest realms of existence. ...
Download paper
Not exactly what you need?

Related papers

“What Makes You Happy?”
And out of goodwill or by habit, we actually wish one another happiness. What are the criteria of happiness? By what standards are we said to be happy? What is the road to happiness? The criteria against which we benchmark our own or another’s happiness are normative and descriptive of our condition of being. These may be physical, social, economic, and even spiritual. By these same standards we…
4 pages (1004 words)
How do You Know You Exist (if You Do)?
The idea of existence is therefore one which is complete truth and is not questioned with the skepticism of one not existing. Conviction of Existence The first concept that Descarte’s points out is that one exists only because they believe they exist. He states: “But I have convinced myself that there is absolutely nothing in the world, no sky, no earth, no mind, no bodies. Does it not follow…
6 pages (1506 words)
What do you Think Zen Means by "Enlightenment?"
This essay considers Suzuki’s perspective on Zen Enlightenment and argues that for Suzuki the notion of Enlightenment is a personal journey toward becoming one with the essential nature of the universe. In properly comprehending Suzuki’s perspective on Enlightenment it is necessary to consider the various modes of articulation he implements. One such perspective is Suzuki’s historical…
4 pages (1004 words)
On Consciousness: Understanding John Searle's Basic Teachings
However, Searle points out that consciousness differs from other biological phenomena since it has a subjective or first-person ontology. With this, Searle asserts that a conscious state is not a separate entity from a physical state, but rather a state where the brain is in. Through this reasoning Searle is able to deny the concepts of duality (separation of soul from the body) and materialism…
6 pages (1506 words)
Compare and Contrast the Ideas, Background, and Pholosophies of Confucius and Buddha
While his followers were successful in competitions with rival schools, Qin Dynasty’s legalists suppressed them. However, his thoughts were granted official sanction after Qin’s fall following Han’s victory over Chu. Gautama Buddha was of learning that was more religious and was born on the Indian subcontinent. As a spiritual leader, his teachings were the foundation of Buddhism. Buddha…
8 pages (2008 words)
Socrates, Are You Happy?
Human perfection is thus a product of perfection of the intellect. The following paper discusses the just occasion of Socrates’ view that a morally good person is happier than the morally bad person. This will be followed by a personal philosophical worry related to his justification. DISCUSSION Socrates’ view of the relation between virtues and happiness is that good morals are necessary for…
6 pages (1506 words)
What do you think comprises reality?
We do not have a direct perception of substances in minds, but only a representation of them. What we know is not what is inherent to the substances, but only the secondary and primary qualities. Thus, according to Locke, the substances are bodies, which are material, and souls, which are immaterial. Then there is God. He explains the existence of God, not from inherent ideas, but from…
4 pages (1004 words)