Erick Erikson Stage 8

Erick Erikson Stage 8 Essay example
High school
Pages 6 (1506 words)
Download 0
Erick Erickson’s Psychosocial Theories of Development Your name Course name Course Instructor Date of Submission Introduction Erikson’s psychological development theory is divided into eight distinctive stages. The theory elucidates stages through which a normal and healthy person passes from their childhood to late adulthood.


In the art of making up a balance between these two forces, there arises a psychosocial vacuum. It is from this point of view that Erikson developed his theory. He believed that the ego exists all through a lifetime (Bee, 2009). He also challenged a fellow psychologist, Sigmund Freud, by noting that behavior was not all defensive. In his belief on the enormous influence of culture on behavior, he explained the interaction between the body (physiology), mind (psychology), and culture (ethos) in the process of development. Philosophically, he summed the stages into two important principles; One’s world gets bigger as they grow, and, Failure cumulates along the stages (Bee, 2009). The literature describes Erickson’s eight stages of psychological development. Infancy stage (birth to 18 months) According to Erickson theory of psychological development, first stage occurs from birth to one year or 18 months. This is a fundamental stage for child’s development. At infancy stage, the basic conflict is between trust and mistrust, significant event at this stage is feeding. At this phase, a child develops senses of trust to their parents or caregiver, after they have shown care, reliability, or consistency, and affections. ...
Download paper
Not exactly what you need?